The experience of Barcelona in strategic planning makes it a reference for the whole Mediterranean region

Barcelona is the capital city of Catalunya, an autonomous community situated in the north-east of Spain. It is the second city of Spain in population (1.5 million inhabitants) and its extension is about 101Km2. T

he Metropolitan Area of Barcelona (AMB) is the sixth urban agglomeration in the EU: it embraces 36 municipalities, it has an area of 600 km2 and almost 3 million inhabitants (about the 50% of Catalunya's population). Unlike other European or Spanish Metropolitan Areas, Barcelona's does not follow the typical hub-spoke structure with a unique center.

On the contrary, the AMB is constituted as a poli-nuclear structure in which the city of Barcelona acts as the main center, though underpinned by an important network of cities, interrelated among them, acting as secondary centers.

Currently, Barcelona has an economy mainly service-oriented, though the industrial sector is also relevant.

All Documents Strategy of Barcelona

The Strategic Metropolitan Plan of Barcelona – Vision 2020, presented on 2 November 2010, is the result of the joint work of over 650 experts in different fields who have collaborated for more than a year to compose and shape a projection for the future.

The approval of PEMB 2020 coincided with the appearance of a new legislative framework: Act 31/2010 of 3 August, creating the Barcelona Metropolitan Area (AMB). The new law smooths the way for the Strategic Metropolitan Plan of Barcelona, opening the door to the creation of new metropolitan instruments for economic promotion and providing a model for public-private cooperation. The vision of the Strategic Metropolitan Plan for Barcelona for 2020 consists of consolidating the AMB, with its model of quality social cohesion and integration, as one of the most attractive and influential European regions for innovative global talent.

To make sure this vision comes about, the strategic proposal is structured around six challenges with five levels of change to deal with them.


Barcelona Smart City

  • Municipality of Barcelona
  • Metropolitan Area of Barcelona
  • Province of Barcelona
Tweets by @barcelona_cat